Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/09/2016, 11:05 AM   #51
Vdubin00
Registered Member
 
Vdubin00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 102
How long ago did you blow your light ! What year


Vdubin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/09/2016, 11:15 AM   #52
ThisGuy12
Registered Member
 
ThisGuy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdubin00 View Post
How long ago did you blow your light ! What year
June 2015 is when one of my two drivers stopped working. They sent me a replacement for free and I reverted it back. The fixture was purchased in May 2015.


ThisGuy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2016, 06:51 AM   #53
Vdubin00
Registered Member
 
Vdubin00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 102
Thisguy12 ,, when you had your LEDs connected to your apex were your fans running ?


Vdubin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2016, 10:08 AM   #54
ThisGuy12
Registered Member
 
ThisGuy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdubin00 View Post
Thisguy12 ,, when you had your LEDs connected to your apex were your fans running ?
I had them wired separately from the LEDs, I used an arduino storm II controller.


ThisGuy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2016, 10:14 AM   #55
Vdubin00
Registered Member
 
Vdubin00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 102
165w led auto dimming with apex NO VDM

Oh so you didn't even have it connected to an apex ? Well glad I didn't buy one of those storm controllers, I almost did


Vdubin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2016, 10:15 AM   #56
Vdubin00
Registered Member
 
Vdubin00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 102
Yeah my fans come on automatically when the lights do I didn't have to do any other special wiring for my fans


Vdubin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2016, 11:26 AM   #57
ThisGuy12
Registered Member
 
ThisGuy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdubin00 View Post
Oh so you didn't even have it connected to an apex ? Well glad I didn't buy one of those storm controllers, I almost did
Don't knock them till you try them they are just Arduino boards with a screen and programming.

They are virtually the same as an apex system. All controllers use a base board style system with programming.


ThisGuy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2016, 11:28 AM   #58
Vdubin00
Registered Member
 
Vdubin00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 102
Cool bro !

I just like being able to control all my outlets with my phone and monitor my tank while I'm away ! That's why the base model apex works for me !


Vdubin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2016, 10:52 AM   #59
fixingstill
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 251
Keep this going guys.
Here are some youtube videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSKDgN-8CkA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SsT28rSmjI
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BjNDfyS_NB8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AKfNSXWwrM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMnxrO8Fbug

I myself have two 165W from amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019QAZX9C/

And I ordered and am waiting for 2 RJ45 bulkheads:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01D0N79K2

I use my lights at about 5 to 10% only. In the first youtube video above, at 15:01, it was mentioned that APEX can only dim down to 10%. Does it mean I can't control the lights at the range I use?


fixingstill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/07/2017, 03:25 PM   #60
Vdubin00
Registered Member
 
Vdubin00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 102
Correct you can only use the lights from 10% and above the apex will show that you can go lower however the light won't go lower , at least mine wouldn't because my light would turn on with the dimmer knob it would click then be on then the more you turn it the brighter it would get ,, if yours has a switch i don't know there was a great write that I used to do the wiring to the variable speed ports , I think it was on reefs.com or something ,, I can't remember I have the link in my FB messenger which for some reason won't load on my phone right now ,,


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Vdubin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/07/2017, 03:28 PM   #61
Vdubin00
Registered Member
 
Vdubin00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 102
Hey keep me posted if your really looking to do this ! Never mind the comment above from that other user these lights have been connected and working flawlessly for about 2 years now give or take , I've personally spoken to several people who have done this and have had success !! However I have spoken to people who have connected them wrong and blown their apex module ,, use caution to use the proper connections ..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Vdubin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/07/2017, 03:40 PM   #62
Vdubin00
Registered Member
 
Vdubin00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 102
Here is the link ,, If you want to take a cat 6 cable and cut one end off and plug the RJ end in to the variable speed ports of the apex here's how to wire the cut end up to the vdm control knob of the led light ,, I used this on my wellpar 165 watt led light ,,

https://www.reefs.com/blog/2012/12/1...pex-controller


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Vdubin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/19/2018, 01:37 AM   #63
teufel72
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdubin00 View Post
Here is the link ,, If you want to take a cat 6 cable and cut one end off and plug the RJ end in to the variable speed ports of the apex here's how to wire the cut end up to the vdm control knob of the led light ,, I used this on my wellpar 165 watt led light ,,

https://www.reefs.com/blog/2012/12/1...pex-controller


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Are tour ligjts still ok? I have 2 marsaqua that I want to do this to.

Envoyé de mon SM-G930W8 en utilisant Tapatalk


teufel72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/20/2018, 01:33 AM   #64
homer1475
Registered Member
 
homer1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 5,101
Purely out of curiosity, ever seen this thread right here on RC?

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showth...mars+aqua+apex

Gives a complete walkthrough on how to wire up the apex to black boxes for dimming. Worked well for me for 2 years, sold the lights and they continue to work to this day.

Yes you are correct that in you don't need the VDM module as the full apex already has variable speed ports on the head unit.


__________________
80G SCA Build: http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2560256

Originally posted by der_wille_zur_macht:

"He's just taking his lunch to work"
homer1475 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.