Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/15/2019, 05:38 PM   #1
Roy G. Biv
Premium Member
 
Roy G. Biv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,643
Apex - Tank Losing Power

For the last several weeks, all outlets lose power to my tank for a few seconds then comes back on.

Sump - AWM and EB8
Tank - AI Hydra Lights, Tunze pumps, DC8

When this happens, my return pump shuts down, my lights turn off, and my Tunze pumps shut down. About 3 seconds later, everything powers back up.

The sump (basement) and the tank (living room) are on 2 different circuits. No other lights in the house flicker. There were no programming changes in the past year or so.

Are there any troubleshooting steps that I can follow? I cant seem to find a "System up time" in the menus. It almost seems like my AWM is rebooting but I can't get to the sump in the basement quick enough to catch it.


Roy G. Biv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2019, 06:20 PM   #2
maik1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Bay,Ontario, Canada
Posts: 209
I been having this issue for weeks also. For me it seems to happen at the end of the afternoon or early night and two or three time in a row within 5 minutes or so.


maik1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2019, 06:34 PM   #3
AdamSabina
Registered Member
 
AdamSabina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,290
Me too!




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


AdamSabina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2019, 06:37 PM   #4
maik1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Bay,Ontario, Canada
Posts: 209
I just changed my network settings in the Apex for my new DNS servers IP address that might help, I will know in a day or two if this was my problem.


maik1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2019, 06:38 PM   #5
AdamSabina
Registered Member
 
AdamSabina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,290
My problem only happens on the top power bar and not the bottom
EB8. Think itís a power bar issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


AdamSabina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2019, 06:45 PM   #6
Roy G. Biv
Premium Member
 
Roy G. Biv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,643
Keep us posted!


Roy G. Biv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/18/2019, 04:51 AM   #7
maik1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Bay,Ontario, Canada
Posts: 209
All weekend without a power cycle, looks to me it was my network settings.


maik1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/18/2019, 07:38 PM   #8
Roy G. Biv
Premium Member
 
Roy G. Biv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,643
Mine hasn't gone down since I posted this. I have a feeling that someone at Neptune read this and corrected something. There was a problem earlier in the year regarding servers and the Apex app losing connectivity causing this type of issue.


Roy G. Biv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/19/2019, 09:09 AM   #9
AdamSabina
Registered Member
 
AdamSabina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,290


Mine faulted Friday but not since.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


AdamSabina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/24/2019, 04:37 PM   #10
maik1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Bay,Ontario, Canada
Posts: 209
One week after changing my network settings and everything is working fine.


maik1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/02/2019, 09:17 AM   #11
Mark_Brennan_NJ
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: north bergen nj
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy G. Biv View Post
Mine hasn't gone down since I posted this. I have a feeling that someone at Neptune read this and corrected something. There was a problem earlier in the year regarding servers and the Apex app losing connectivity causing this type of issue.
My problem was fixed as soon as you posted this. I was going through it for a few months.


Mark_Brennan_NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.